The Rotary Club of Ankeny is now 5 months from completing 50 years of service to the Ankeny Community and will be celebrating with a gala on Saturday, January 21, 2023, at the FFA Enrichment Center.  Here is a moment from the history of Rotary and the Rotary Club of Ankeny:
Milt Aunan was the person that was most instrumental in helping to charter the Rotary Club of Ankeny in 1973.  He also became the first President of the new club.  It is only fitting that he also became the Club's first Paul Harris Fellow in January, 1987.  He went on to become a PHF +1.   Pat Brewbaker became the first women in the club to become a Paul Harris Fellow in November 1992.  Of the current members of the Club, Ben Norman was the first to achieve the status of a Paul Harris Fellow in December, 1989.  Zane Smith followed that a year later with his first Paul Harris Fellowship in December,1990. 
Today the club has 77 Paul Harris Fellows and 51 of these are multiple Paul Harris Fellows.  Since being chartered, the Club and it's members have donated a total of $485,135 to the Rotary Foundation.